Little “D” – 21 Days New

On January 21, 2012, Chrissy Winchester gave birth to her second child a beautiful little boy named Derek Donald Winchester, who actually happens to be my tenth cousin on my mother’s side of the family.

I love having a huge family and I am proud to announce that our family is even getting bigger then with adding Derek to the mix, I am going to become an aunt. My sister announced a little over a month ago that she is pregnant and we will soon be adding a new little boy or girl to this crazy family of ours. Make sure you keep a look out for her maternity, newborn, and family portraits this summer.

Back to the Winchester family, on January 27, 2008, Chrissy Winchester gave birth to her first child, Allison Reese Winchester. Allison or Alli for short, is now a proud big sister. As a toddler you can never predict what they will do and Chrissy had asked me that besides just photographing Derek by himself she asked if I could take some of the two kids together. Being a portrait photographer I am always shooting my own family as well. When you have as big of a family as I do you use that to your advantage. Alli is comfortable around me and as a normal toddler your around they will not listen to you every minute of the day. As we were shooting Alli was by her mother’s side the entire time anxious to pose with her new brother. Once it became her time she decided she no longer wanted photos taken of her and began to fuss and not listen. Luckily I got a few photos of them togehter. Next time I have a toddler and a newborn I will make sure I do the sibling/family photos first. Of course the newborn will likely go back to sleep.

Overall it was a great experience, I love photographing newborns and children no matter how hard it can be at times. Make sure you follow along and watch both Derek and Allison grow older. Here are some photos from the session.

Image

Leave a Reply

